Skip to content

Morningside Graduate Faculty of Biomedical Sciences acknowledges 41 new PhD candidates

The annual ceremony acknowledges college students for passing the qualifying examination, a major milestone marking their transition to formal candidacy for doctoral levels.

The Morningside Graduate Faculty of Biomedical Sciences at UMass Chan Medical Faculty honored 41 PhD candidates throughout its annual Qualifying Examination Recognition Ceremony on Wednesday, Sept. 14. Candidates are energetic in a spread of analysis areas, together with Huntington’s illness and ALS.

Mary Ellen Lane, PhD, the Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Biomedical Sciencesprofessor of neurobiology and dean of the Morningside Graduate Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, mentioned the candidates are companions and collaborators in UMass Chan’s analysis mission.

“Mental and private improvement do not finish with candidacy, and do not even finish with commencement,” Dean Lane mentioned. “I encourage you to embrace the chance to have interaction in a transformational developmental course of, and to proceed rising, studying and stretching out of your consolation zone.”

Passing the qualifying examination is a major milestone for PhD college students; it marks their transition to formal candidates for doctoral levels. Milo Vantine is a PhD candidate from Middleton who does nanopore sequencing work within the lab of William Flavahan, PhD, assistant professor of molecular, cell & most cancers biology. Vantine mentioned the qualifying examination course of helped him develop his confidence as a researcher.

“I now really feel I’ve a stable grasp not solely on my analysis matter, however on find out how to current my work for a large viewers. The suggestions I acquired from my committee has helped me to develop my presentation, writing and general skilled communication abilities,” Vantine mentioned.

The brand new doctoral candidates acquired laser pointers and enterprise playing cards. They may even obtain Morningside Graduate Faculty of Biomedical Sciences lab coats.

“This is likely one of the final main milestones in our curriculum, and it feels nice to be on the opposite facet of it,” mentioned Samuel Lu, a PhD candidate from Las Vegas who focuses on neural circuit improvement within the lab of Michael Francis, PhD, professor of neurobiology.

Lane offered MD/PhD college students Jillian Belgrad and Abigail Hiller with the Zelda Haidak Scholarship in Cell Biology. Belgrad, a Weston native, is learning Huntington’s illness and the way DNA restore accelerates illness development in sufferers. Belgrad is mentored by Anastasia Khvorova, PhD, the Remondi Household Chair in Biomedical Analysis and professor of RNA therapeutics. Arlington native Hiller is conducting ALS analysis with Paul L. Greer, PhD, assistant professor of molecular drugs, and Robert H. Brown Jr., DPhil, MD, the Donna M. and Robert J. Manning Chair in Neurosciences and professor of neurology. Hiller is elucidating the affect of knocking out microglial-expressed genes in a mouse mannequin of ALS.

The next college students turned PhD candidates in tutorial yr 2021-2022:

Ellen Acheampong, Samuel Behar lab
Vincent Azzolino, Celia Schiffer lab
Jillian Belgrad, Anastasia Khvorova lab
Esther Boama-Nyarko, Nancy Byatt lab
Kelsey Butler, Andres Colubri lab
Theodore Carrigan-Broda, Anastasia Khvorova lab
Chun-Wei Chen, Dorothy Schafer lab.
Religion Conroy, Dohoon Kim lab
Kha Uyen Dam, Hong Zhang lab
Megan Fowler-Magaw, Daryl Bosco lab
Jason Freedman, Paul Greer lab
Chandler Pal, Roger Davis lab
Johan Girgenrath, Craig Mello lab
James Gooding, Robert Brown lab
Kaiyuan Hao, Ann Rothstein and Michelle Kelliher labs
Carly Herbert, Apurv Soni lab
Abigail Hiller, Paul Greer and Robert Brown labs
Jonathan Jung, Teng-Ting Lim lab
Ayush Kumar, Arthur Mercurio lab
Eui Jin Kwon, Chan Zhou lab
Donguk Lee, Gowthaman Uthaman lab

Ye Liang, Kenneth Rocklab
Jiangyuan Liu, Job Dekker lab
Samuel Liu, Michael Francis lab
Nathan MacGilvary, Sharon Cantor lab
Helen Magana, Hyun Youk lab
Pryce Michener, Peter Friedmann Lab.
Rachael Miller, Neil Aronin Lab
Eli Min, Alexandra Byrne lab
Yen Anh Nguyen, Jonathan Watts lab
Veroniki Nikolaki, Fen-Biao Gao lab
Seun Osundolire, Kate Lapane lab
Zachary Racenet, Ann Moormann lab
Sydney Schock, Amir Mitchell Lab.
Anthony Sciaudone, Milka Koupenova-Zamor lab
Jacob Stillman, Dorothy Schafer lab
Milo Vantine, William Flavahan Lab.
Kelsey Wagner, Michelle Kelliher lab
Elenore Wiggin, Paul Thompson lab
Peng Zhou, Chan Zhou lab
Sarah Zvornicanin, Celia Schiffer lab

Associated UMass Chan information tales:
Dean Lane to 57 new doctoral candidates: Collaboration key to science
GSBS acknowledges 56 doctoral candidates in digital ceremony

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.